Alpen-Adria-Universitaet Klagenfurt (AAU)

Since its foundation in 1970, the Alpen-Adria-Universitaet Klagenfurt (AAU) became part of the national and international academic landscape. The university consists of four faculties: Faculty of Interdisciplinary Studies, Faculty of Humanities, Faculty of Technical Sciences and Faculty of Management and Economics. Moreover the university can act from three sites: Klagenfurt, Graz and Vienna.


Using a comprehensive process, the Universitaet Klagenfurt has looked carefully at how the research activities that are carried out at the AAU can be leveraged with regard to the “Grand Challenges”. This strategy process resulted in the development of seven cross-faculty thematic areas: Educational Research, Energy Management & Technology, Human Centered Computing and Design, Sustainability, Self-Organizing Systems, Entrepreneurship and Visual Culture.


The institute of psychology follows the aim to understand and explain the human being and life with an equal combination of cultural, social and natural science. It is composed by the historically defined research focuses in the fields of intervention research (psychoanalysis and psychotherapy), culture (conflict and trauma), livelong development, qualitative-quantitative methodology and cognition science. The interdisciplinary and cooperative approach is target and virtue of the research at the institute of psychology at the AAU. Several competitive national and international projects are executed by the institute.


Alpen-Adria-Universitaet Klagenfurt

Universitaetsstraße 65-67

9020 Klagenfurt am Wörthersee





Project coordinator AAU:

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Sylke Andreas



Thorsten-Christian Gablonski