Medical University-Sofia, Bulgaria

1 2344



Medical University-Sofia

The Medical Faculty of Sofia University is the oldest medical institution of higher education in Bulgaria.

The Alexandrovska University Hospital is a University hospital in Sofia. It was founded in 1879 and was named after Bulgarian Prince Alexander I Battenberg in October 1884. A military hospital between 1912 and 1919, it was the site where the Sofia Medical University was founded in 1917.

The medical Faculty was founded by the Decree of His Majesty King Ferdinand in 1917 as a Faculty of Medicine at the Sofia University.The first courses began in April 1918. In 1950, the Medical Faculty was set apart from Sofia University and became independent as a Medical Academy with two faculties: medicine and dentistry. Since 1995 according to the decision taken by the National Assembly it became a Medical University.

The University has a history and tradition of nearly one century in medical education and science. The Medical University-Sofia is a part of the European educational sphere and many of our lecturers are well known scientists worldwide. Since its foundation, more than 60,000 specialists were instructed at the Medical University-Sofia, 4600 foreign citizens included.

At present Sofia Medical University is divided into 4 faculties: Faculty of Medicine, Faculty of Dental Medicine, Faculty of Pharmacy and Faculty of Public Health. It has 47 departments and clinics, and about 1300 professors.

Medicine in Bulgaria is a 6 year program leading to Master degree in medicine. The curriculum is based on the country’s and European Union requirements. The program contains 10 semesters of academic training (5 years) and an internship year(310 days) before graduation. During the internship year students are required to take the state exams for licensing. There are also summer practical internships that are obligatory for the students of the 3rd and 4th year of education.

The degree and the licensing are recognized in all European Union countries and abroad. Many graduates are practicing internationally.

After having fulfilled the required obligations of the academic program, the internship and having passed the state exams, the students receive the professional qualification Physician or Doctor of Medicine, MD and obtain a Master degree.The credit system is compatible with the European Credit Transfer System (ECTS).


The university enrols about 600 students every year, including about 150 foreign students, largely from Greece, Macedonia, India and the Middle East.

At the moment there are 6155 students, including 1600 international students from 52 countries. The majority of international students come from Turkey, India, Macedonia, Greece, and Cyprus.

The level of education is constantly being upgraded and modernized by advanced materials, constantly adjusting to new medical data. So far 35000 doctors have graduated from the University.

Studies in Medicine at the University of Sofia are equivalent to any European university. The University puts an emphasis in research and has partnerships with international research institutions.

The ultimate goal of the University is to teach and train students (undergraduates, postgraduates and Ph.D), to conduct research and to provide highly specialized health-care for people. The Medical University-Sofia has internationally recognized achievements in: cardio-thoracic surgery, neurosurgery, ophthalmic surgery, high-tech diagnostics of human diseases, prevention programs for cardio-vascular and inherited diseases, bone-marrow transplantation, and development of new compounds of synthetic and natural origin, genetics, etc.

The main objectives of the University are:To provide high quality education in a surrounding enriched by research work; To preserve and strengthen its position as an educational and scientific institution of the highest international quality; To install high professional and humane qualities in its graduates in the spirit of European democracy and tolerance; To provide and cultivate high quality lecturers and improve their effectiveness.

The Medical University joined the SOCRATES/ERASMUS program of the European Community in 1999, thus engaging in foreign exchange student programs.

The Medical University-Sofia also has the ECTS (European Credit Transfer System) Label. ECTS is a decentralized system based on the principle of mutual trust and confidence between the participating educational institutions. It provides a way of measuring and comparing learning achievements of students by using commonly understood measurements, credits and grades and transferring them from one institution to another, and thus widening the choices available to the students. This system was introduced at the Medical University-Sofia in the academic year 2000/2001.

Sofia University has a foreign language department (in English) for the Medical, Dental and Pharmaceutical Faculties since 2007-2008. The language of instruction is English, and since the entrance of Bulgaria into the European Union the degrees are equivalent to the ones obtained in other European countries.

The Medical University-Sofia offers its programs of study in Cyprus in cooperation with Saveriades Educational Organisation under the Franchise Law Agreement (2010). The courses are delivered at the premises of the Educational Organisation in Nicosia. All the Academic Staff teaching at Medical University-Sofia in Cyprus courses are approved by the University itself. The degrees are awarded by Medical University-Sofia and not by Saveriades Educational Organisation, and are identical to the ones received by students studying in Bulgaria. All academic programs offered by Medical University-Sofia are recognized by all European countries including Cyprus.

The Medical University-Sofia is one of the biggest and most prominent healthcare, educational and scientific centres of the Bulgarian medical science.



See more at: